Mexican Cemeteries Are Gorgeous!

11 Feb

Don’t ask me why, but I have this weird fascination with Mexican cemeteries… I think they are just breath-taking! This was the cemetery in Playa Del Carmen, and I just found it peaceful, beautiful & unique. I tried to explain to my friend that in our cemeteries here there are no colors, no personal headstones that are hand-crafted colorful little houses and we also don’t have a celebration like they do on November the 2nd. They embrace death as a natural part of life and a beautiful thing..something to celebrate. ♥

Playa Del Carmen Cemetery - Photography by Martine Sansoucy

Here is a beautiful view from a hillside cemetery in Xcaret 🙂

Xcaret Cemetery - Photography by Martine Sansoucy

And yet another view of the cemetery at Xcaret!

Xcaret Cemetery - Photography by Martine Sansoucy

I will be uploading more as I am going through them! Just wanted to share a couple of these with you, I am still so in awe of the colors and all the beauty of the Mexican cemetery.

xoxo Martine

6 Responses to “Mexican Cemeteries Are Gorgeous!”

  1. Sartenada February 11, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    I find that the best is in Paris – Père LaChaise.

    Was there in Mexico

    Memorials on grave yards?

    I love them.

    Happy week-end!

    • Eat Pray Photograph February 12, 2012 at 7:51 am #

      Beautiful statues in that cemetery… I think I just love the vibrant colors in the Mexican cemeteries! 🙂 Happy weekend to you as well!

  2. indian wedding photography February 13, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    You have brought up a very wonderful details, appreciate it for the post.

  3. portable ice maker reviews February 14, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    I think other website owners should take this website as an example, very clean and great user genial style and design.

  4. Dick Canlas March 2, 2012 at 2:01 am #

    Outstanding post, I believe website owners should learn a lot from this website its very user genial. So much great information on here :D.

  5. Pozycjonowanie Wrocław March 3, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    I would like to see a lot more posts like this!.. Great blog btw! reis Subscribed..

Tell me what's on your mind..